Eight Creighton FFA teams qualify for state competition at Norfolk district contests

Food science team tops district

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 9, 2019 7:00 am

Eight Creighton career development teams head to state FFA competition

Eight Creighton FFA career development teams qualified for state competition by placing in the top three at the District 4 Ag Education Contest in Norfolk last week.

Creighton FFA members were among more than 1,400 students from three districts who competed in the FFA Ag Education Contest at Northeast Community College in Norfolk on Feb. 27.

The food science team - Olivia Dartman, Maycee Zimmerer, Kirsten Adams and Haley Novacek - qualified for state competition by winning the district championship, all four earning purple ribbons. Team members Alex Homan, Brienne Fanta and Clarissa Becker will be state alternates.

Four teams earned runner-up honors to qualify - livestock management, poultry evaluation, ag sales and floriculture.

Brittani Pospisil, Clay Curtis, RJ Wilmes, Hannah Lemke and Cody Hanvey earned second and will compete at state in two categories, livestock management and poultry evaluation.

Ag sales team members include Brian Johnson, Anna Tyler, Travis Tyler and Cailen Moeller.

Floriculture team members are Anna Pavlik, Sloane Fuchtman, Ashtyn Fritz and Kimberly Hines.

Agriscience, agronomy and farm business management teams qualified with third-place finishes at Norfolk.

Agriscience team members qualifying for state are Noah Novacek, Bryna Fanta, Levi Bearinger and Brody Eggers. Team members Averi Diedrichsen, Emma Vortherms, Mallory Nielsen and Shane Farnik are alternates.

Competing on the agronomy team are Dylan Kuhlman, JD Kuhlman, Cameron Tyler and Logan Eggers.

Dylan and JD Kuhlman, Brenden Waldow and Cameron Tyler are farm business management team members.

Several additional Creighton teams competed as well. Non-qualifying participants included the ag biotechnology blue-ribbon team of Brian Johnson (blue), Conner Lucas (red); Alex Homan and Brennan Pint; ag mechanics blue-ribbon team of JD Kuhlman (blue), Sam Van Metre, Anthony Cook and Derek Wortman; vet science red-ribbon team of Sierra Nielsen and Christen Curtis (red), Jessica Stevens and Charlize Wilmes; nursery and landscape red-ribbon team of Clarissa Becker, Hailee Cook, Brienne Fanta and Caitlin Shefl and envirothon red-ribbon team of Carson Lilly, Caden Wortman, Sam Vortherms and Tyler Wagner.

In addition to Creighton, District 4 includes Allen, Bloomfield, Crofton, Emerson-Hubbard, Hartington-Newcastle, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, Madison, Norfolk, Osmond, Pierce, Plainview, Randolph, Stanton and Verdigre.

Creighton FFA adviser and ag teacher, Debi Doerr, serves as chair of District 4, currently in the second year of a three-year term.

Northeast agriculture, horticulture, electrical construction and control, electromechanical, veterinary technology and welding faculty and students hosted the contests, including an ag biotech exam, ag sales objective test, ag technology and mechanics, agri-science contest – natural resources, agronomy, environthon, farm management, floriculture, food science objective exam, livestock management, meats contest, nursery and landscape, veterinary science exam and welding.

The qualifying teams will compete at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in early April, during the annual state FFA Convention.

© 2019 The Creighton News . All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Most Popular