Mike Nutting unseated by Mark Ripp

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2018 9:50 am | Updated: 9:53 am, Wed Nov 7, 2018.

Councilman Mike Nutting was unseated by Creighton voters in Tuesday’s General election.

 He received 107 votes, just under 12 percent of those cast for the city council. Steven Morrill retained his seat with 411 votes, while Mark Ripp was elected with 380 votes.

Mayor Christopher Patrick retains his seat, getting the nod from 64 percent of the voters - 259 votes. Challenger Brandi Dimmitt garnered 208 votes.

Results released Tuesday night remain unofficial until verified by canvassing boards.

Knox County voters favored Creighton’s Tim Gragert over Keith Kube of Crofton in the District 40 Nebraska Legislature race, 2,254 votes (65 percent) to 1,234. Gragert won the seat by a small margin, overall, with 7,181 votes (52 percent) to Kube’s 6,738 votes.

Knox County saw a 65.24 percent voter turnout in Tuesday’s election, with 3,694 of 5,662 registered voters casting ballots.

Antelope County had a 56.96 percent turnout and statewide, 51.11 percent of registered voters went to the polls. The state has 1,219,644 registered voters.

Republican Jim Borgmann of Creighton retained his seat as Knox County supervisor for District 7, defeating his Democratic challenger, Alan Dartman of Creighton, 425 to 121.

Virgil Miller, Republican incumbent in District 3, also retained his seat, winning over Democratic challenger Jeffery A. Uhlir, 352 to 223.

The remaining Knox County seats were retained by the incumbents in uncontested races.

Amy Borgmann received 703 Knox County votes for Creighton school board and 54 in Antelope County, while Kay Morrill, received 449 from Knox County voters and 38 from Antelope County. Dixie Hanefeldt launched a write-in campaign in September. There were 176 write-in votes cast for the seat in Knox County and 17 in Antelope County.

Ruth Vonderohe and Layne Pahl were elected to the Bazile Mills village board, while the third open seat will be determined.

Carol Burglund and Jan Novacek were elected to the Winnetoon board, with a third seat to be determined.

Max Dvorak and James Rohrer each received 20 votes for three seats open on the Center village board, Jesse James Warriner came in third with 19. Loren Hintz received 16 votes.

The Niobrara village board had two openings. Alan Ruda was the top vote getter with 114 votes. The other candidate, Rhonda Collins claimed 63 votes. There were 87 write-in votes cast.

The Wausa village seats will be filled by Mike Burns, with 204 votes, Gabe Backer, with 176, and William J Schumacher, with 160. Jessica L. Barta received 133 votes.

Lela Sharol Lawhead was elected mayor of Crofton, along with council members Pamela S. Berendsen, Larry Peitz and Susan Hillman.

Bloomfield city council and mayor races were uncontested. Top Bloomfield school board vote getters were Hally Ziegler, Keith Koertje and Dee Bratetic.

Topping the slate of candidates for the Santee school board were Donald Pike Jr., Steven J. Moose and Lizzie K. Swalley.

One of two positions on the Brunswick Village Board of Trustees may not be determined until verification of write-in votes. Craig Forbes received 48 votes to retain his seat. Lynn Pellatz received 20 votes and write-in candidate(s), 28.

The Royal Village Board of Trustees had three candidates for three seats. Jim Bright was the top vote getter with 29, Max Heiter received 27 and Myron Hergert, 25. Orchard also had just three candidates for three positions.  Glen Cheatum received 136, Curt Mitteis, 114 and Dwight VanOstrand, 106.

Elected to the Orchard Public School board were Nathan Schwager, with 288 votes, Candice Hoke, 260, and Terri Hergert, 223. Gordon Shrader garnered 122 votes.

Republican candidate for Antelope County commissioner, Dean Smith of Brunswick, ousted Democrat incumbent, Jerald Schwager of Royal, 349 to 121, in District 1.

Raymond Township was the only Knox County township that had more than three names on the ballot for three officers. Neil K. Peed, Barry DeKay and Frank Hanzlik were elected with 70, 69 and 63 votes, respectively. Mark Simpson received 47.  

Linda J. Hoffman defeated Paul E. Allen for the Lower Niobrara Natural Resources District director seat in Subdistrict 3 - 1,287 to 884, while Kevin L. Randa defeated Bradley J. Mahon in Subdistrict 4 - 1,176 to 897. Jeffery A. Uhlir won the at-large seat over Shaun L. Higgins - 1,082 to 999. The remaining NRD positions were uncontested.

Knox County poll visitors voted in a like manner to those across the state in the federal and state races.

Voters selected Deb Fisher for the United States Senate and Adrian Smith for the House of Representatives, District 3, along with Pete Rickets, governor; Bob Evnen, secretary of state; and Charlie Janssen, auditor of public accounts; all by large margins.

Doug Peterson was unchallenged for  attorney general, as was  John Murante for state treasurer.

Initiative Measure 427, to expand Medicaid in Nebraska, passed, 344,437 to 302.338, with Saunders County results not yet in early Wednesday morning. Knox County voted no, 1,809 to 1,480. In Antelope County, the measure was voted down as well, 1,491 to 867.

© 2018 The Creighton News . All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Most Popular